The William Gibbes House, built sometime shortly after 1772, and redecorated in 1794, is one of the finest two-story frame residences in America. The grandeur of its classical Georgian elevation is rivaled by the elegance of its very sophisticated Adamesque interiors, featuring richly carved wooden elements, fireplaces and mantles, plaster ceilings, and a dramatic upper floor ballroom, all integrated into the well-known Charleston “double-house” floor plan. The house is built upon a high English basement of carefully distressed stone. The carefully modulated rhythms of the consummately robust Georgian façade are highlighted by triangular forms and by a series of consoles. The elevation is centered on an attic story triangular pediment which itself is centered on the triangular pediment of the door surround. The latter is part of a perfectly proportioned little aedicule, composed of four wooden pilasters, the triangular pediment, with mutules, and a carefully carved frieze with triglyphs and guttae. The modillions at the cornice level are carried around all sides of the building, and the building is roofed by a tiled hipped roof. The double staircase is graced by a fine iron rail, the whole of this approach being added about 1794. The Gibbes House has the usual Georgian four-room double pile floor plan, known in Charleston simply as a double house. Listed in the National Register April 15, 1970; Designated a National Historic Landmark April 15, 1970.
William Gibbes House