The Wilkinson-Boineau House is significant as an excellent example of an early nineteenth century Greek Revival secondary residence with minor twentieth century alterations. It is also significant as the first house built in a summer planters’ village established ca. 1830 by William Wilkinson, a lowcountry planter in whose honor the community was first named Wilkinsonville. Wilkinson lived for most of the year at his plantation on Swinton Creek, approximately four miles southeast of Adams Run. Milton Carroll Boineau acquired the property in the 1920s. The Boineau’s built a one-story, three-room rear addition and removed a portion of the central hall in the 1930s. The house is a two-story wood frame residence on high brick piers. The original (ca. 1830) portion of the house was a two-story central hall single pile residence with a braced timber frame. A one-story hip-roofed porch, accessed by high brick steps, spans the breadth of the entire façade. The house has square edge weatherboarding and a tall lateral gable roof with a half-moon louvered vent in each gable end, and dentil molding under the eaves on the façade and rear elevation. The original windows were nine-over-nine double-hung sash, but were replaced with two-over-two double-hung sash in the 1930s or 1940s. The roof is corrugated metal. Listed in the National Register January 21, 1999

Address

Address:

5185 south carolina highway 174, adams run, SC 29426

GPS:

32.71937888077477, -80.34854726956719

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-