Erected in two stages, this brick and frame house is now subdivided into two separate residences. Frame section has original address of 32 Legare Street and retains the name of Sword Gates. The frame section is believed to have been built around 1803, possibly by French Huguenots James LaRoche and J. Lardent. The home was bought and redecorated in 1849 by British Consul George A. Hopley, the same year the Sword Gates were installed in the high brick wall in front of the frame portion of house. The tall wrought iron gates are decorated with elaborate scrolls and leafage. Each half has a central cross formed by point of two vertical spears meeting in center of horizontally placed broadsword. The gates were manufactured by Christopher Werner of Charleston. The frame portion has undergone many late 19th century additions and alterations. The brick wing has retained its architectural integrity and is believed to have been added ca. 1818, acquired by Madame Talvaude, and used as a girls school. The building is two and a half stories over a high basement, with a slate covered hip roof. There are three pedimented dormers along the north and one on the west. The brick walls are covered with stucco; cornice is also stucco. First floor windows have exterior paneled shutters and second story shutters are louvered. Listed in the National Register December 18, 1970

Address

Address:

32 Legare St, Charleston, SC 29401, United States

GPS:

32.77395452979336, -79.93420503083834

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-