Townsend Mikell House) Sunnyside, constructed between 1870 and 1880 by Townsend Mikell, son of Isaac Jenkins Mikell of Peter’s Point Plantation, is significant as one of the few remaining, relatively intact, immediate post-Civil War sea island cotton plantations on . Sunnyside is a one-and-one-half story weatherboard-clad, rectangular plan, mansard roof residence surmounted by a glassed cupola with flared eaves. A seven-bay, one-story, hipped roof porch extends fully across the façade and wraps both side elevations. The roof is supported by chamfered posts and has a slat balustrade. A boxed cornice with paired brackets comprises the eaves at both the porch and main roof. There are several outlying buildings and the tabby foundation of a cotton gin adjacent to the house. Directly behind the house are two small, rectangular, one-story, gable roof, weatherboard-clad outbuildings that were probably the quarters of house servants. There is also a long, rectangular, weatherboard-clad, one-and-one-half story barn. The Sunnyside Plantation Foreman’s House was added to the original nomination. The house faces east toward the unpaved lane that leads north to the small island on which Sunnyside Plantation house is located. It is a two-story, weatherboard-clad, frame residence, with a front gable roof clad in V-crimped metal, and a two-tier porch at the south elevation. The first level of the façade is sided with rough, circular sawn wide weatherboards. The low foundation rests on a mixture of brick and wood piers, with a cement slab foundation at the front porch. A small one-by-one bay gable roofed structure has been attached to the rear elevation, and there is a one-story shed roofed addition along the right elevation. Listed in the National Register November 28, 1986; Boundary increase February 4, 1994

Address

Address:

Charleston, SC 29403, USA

GPS:

33.56593972578799, -79.02802130619513

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-