Summit Plantation House was completed in 1819 for William and Amarinthia Wilkinson. The house is significant as a relatively intact example of a modest Federal style plantation house and also as the oldest remaining residence in St. Paul’s Parish. In addition, the house, in conjunction with the extant varied documentation, is an excellent illustration of the life of a modest planter in this area of the state. The house is a two-story frame building that sits on a tall tabby foundation. The foundation walls are solid under the two-story portion of the house, while one-story portion is supported on brick and tabby piers. The original part of the house is a two-story, central-hall, single pile residence with a braced timber frame. A one-story shed roofed, two room section, which appears to be original to the house is located at the rear of the two story section. The façade is five bays wide with a central entrance. A one-story, shed roofed porch spans the breadth of the façade. The house has beaded weatherboard siding and a tall gable roof with metal roofing. The construction of the house, with hewn timbers, pegged mortise-and-tenon joints, Carpenter brand locks, and sash sawn timbers reflects the state of building arts in the region at the time. The details of the woodwork, especially the reeded pilasters and sunburst motifs on the mantelpieces, reflect the Federal stylistic influence which was fashionable at the time. Listed in the National Register July 28, 1983

Address

Address:

4539 Summit Plantation Rd Meggett, SC 29449, USA

GPS:

32.6933365, -80.2863549

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-