Charles Pinckney National Historic Site) Snee Farm was purchased about 1754 by Colonel Charles Pinckney, a wealthy lawyer and planter. Upon his death in 1782, the farm then passed to his son, Charles, author of the “Pinckney draught” and signer of the Constitution, four time Governor of South Carolina, U.S. Senator and Minister to Spain, 1801-1805. President George Washington stopped at Snee Farm for breakfast on May 2, 1791, during a tour through South Carolina. The farm remained the property of Pinckney until his death in 1824. (Note: research since the time of nomination has established that Pinckney sold Snee Farm in 1817 to satisfy his debts. The current main house at Snee Farm was built ca. 1828, replacing the plantation house extant during Pinckney’s ownership.) Snee Farm is a square-shaped one-and-one-half story clapboard structure with gabled and dormered roof and two interior chimneys. The large corbeled brick chimneys are set on the rear slope of the roof. The flanking symmetrical one-story frame wings at the rear northeast and northwest corners of the main house were built and added in 1936. The original house, rests on brick piles and a short flight of masonry open-string stairs lead up to the open porch which extends across the front elevation. The shed roof over the porch is supported by six evenly spaced square columns. The cottage was restored in 1936. Listed in the National Register April 13, 1973; Designated a National Historic Landmark November 7, 1973

Address

Address:

1200 Club DrMt Pleasant, SC 29464, USA

GPS:

32.84016173904285, -79.82560841986617

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-