Built ca. 1800 by Francis Simmons, this three-story house with raised basement is done in the Federal style. The two-story piazza located on the side of the house is typical of many Charleston dwellings during this period. Brick composition is Flemish bond and house has brick quoins at each of its corners. First floor colonnade has stylized unfluted Corinthian columns. Second floor colonnade has segmental arches and the roof over the piazza is denticulated. Basement is arcaded under the piazza. Entrance door has small denticulated cornice over a transom. Roof is hipped with three dormers on each side of the house while one faces the street and rear of the house. In 1816, George Edwards purchased the property and enlarged the premises, creating a garden which was separated from the house yard by a notable fence of wrought iron which had unusual stuccoed columns topped with sandstone balls. The house has extensive outbuildings connected to the main house at its rear. Listed in the National Register January 25, 1971; Designated a National Historic Landmark November 7, 1973

Address

Address:

19 Legare St, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

GPS:

32.77279650562344, -79.93399061766992

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-