The Secessionville Historic District is a small rural settlement which visually reflects the development of Secessionville from a remote antebellum retreat into an important Civil War outpost and the eventual home of prominent James Island agriculturalists. Secessionville was found well before the Civil War as a summer retreat for the wealthy planters of James Island. When Union forces besieged the city of Charleston in 1861, Secessionville became an important outpost in the Confederate defense lines. In June of 1862 the settlement was the site of the Battle of Secessionville, one of the major engagements fought in the Siege of Charleston. With the conclusion of the Civil War, Secessionville became the home of several leading James Island planters. Especially notable among this group was Elias Lynch Rivers, a leading agriculturalist who did pioneer work in the improvement of Sea Island cotton. The district extends down the length of Secessionville peninsula, encompassing the site of the Battle of Secessionville, the unmarked grave of over 300 Union soldiers and the remains of Fort Lamar, constructed ca. 1862. The district then runs along the marshlands of Secessionville Creek to include one Victorian and two antebellum Greek Revival residences constructed by James Island planters. Listed in the National Register October 1, 1979

Address

Address:

1174 Fort Lamar Rd Charleston, South Carolina

GPS:

32.70524293706942, -79.94247610770847

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-