Locksley Hall) Seaside Plantation House is located in a rural agricultural setting on Edisto Island. It is the only brick Federal plantation house remaining on the island. William Edings, a planter of sea island cotton, purchased the Seaside Plantation property in 1802; stylistic and structural evidence indicate that the house was built ca. 1810. The Edings were a prominent family of Edisto planters. Edings son, also William, was also a member of the State Legislature from 1856-57. Reelected for a second term in 1858, he died before taking his seat. Architecturally, the two-and-one-half story residence is significant as an example of the Federal style. The house is similar to the Charleston “single” house plan, being one room deep with a long porch across the southeast elevation. The house rests on a raised basement. The central portion of the house is stuccoed brick with frame additions on the first floor. The gable roof now covered with metal originally had cypress shingles. There are two interior end chimneys with corbeled caps and two gabled dormers with gable ends which reflect the boxed cornices of the main house. The interior features Federal decoration on the mantels, chair rails and ceiling molding, but of a simple character. Listed in the National Register January 21, 1982

Address

Address:

1605 Woodland Dr, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576, United States

GPS:

33.59818909451714, -79.00277333063787

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-