Old Berkeley County Courthouse) Significant as one of the few examples of Victorian commercial architecture in the Mount Pleasant area and politically significant as county seat for Berkeley from 1884 to 1898. This building was built in 1884 and was used as the Courthouse until 1898 when Mount Pleasant was made part of Charleston County. In the years that followed it was used by both the Lutherans and the Baptists as a church. It is a two-story, rectangular, stucco over brick building, with large matching double stairways leading to the main entrance on the second floor. Stairs are concrete over brick, with granite siding. Beneath and between the stairs is a barrel vaulted entrance into the basement. The stairs mask the entire lower front of the building. The main floor is separated from the lower by a stuccoed course of brick. The walls of the main story are flat, unembellished stucco. The front area contains a double wooden door flanked by a pair of rectangular windows, one pair to a side. Listed in the National Register May 6, 1971

Address

Address:

331 King St, Mt Pleasant, SC 29464 USA

GPS:

32.78622932029229, -79.87364881355052

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-