Eude’s Tavern) The Long Room of McCrady’s Tavern is an increasingly rare architectural and functional structure. Though there were several prominent taverns with long rooms in Charleston during and after the Revolution, McCrady’s is the only surviving one. This rectangular brick building is first mentioned in a plat and deed dated June 1767, and was acquired by Edward McCrady, barber of Charleston, in August 1778 and operated as a tavern from that date until the first third of the 20th century. Between 1778 and 1788 three separate purchases of adjacent properties by McCrady allowed him to construct a long room behind the tavern with additional access provided by nearby Unity Alley. McCrady was an active member of the Revolutionary militia of Charleston. He and several other army and militia leaders were exiled from Charleston after its fall in 1780 and imprisoned in St. Augustine until 1781. On Wednesday, May 4, 1791 in the Long Room of McCrady’s Tavern, the Society of Cincinnati entertained President George Washington with a banquet. Also present were the Governor of South Carolina, Lieutenant Governor and Civil Officers of the State, the Mayor and Aldermen of Charleston, and members of Congress and other dignitaries in President Washington’s traveling party. Described in a survey of 1801 as having three stories, garrets, brick cellar, and slate roof, the building was damaged by fire in the early 20th century and the front façade altered to its present appearance. Listed in the National Register September 14, 1972

Address

Address:

155 E Bay St, Charleston, South Carolina SC 29401, USA

GPS:

32.77826330809112, -79.92703750076114

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-