Frogmore Plantation was constructed ca. 1820 by Dr. Edward Mitchell of Waccamaw, when he married Elizabeth Baynard of Edisto Island. The house is significant architecturally and agriculturally as a distinctive remnant of an antebellum sea island cotton plantation. In 1840 Dr. Mitchell operated a plantation of considerable size, at that time he owned a large labor force of 124 slaves. The house is a rectangular, two-story, hip-roofed residence sheathed in weatherboard. The fenestration of the façade is symmetrical in a five-bay arrangement. There is a one story, five bay, shed-roofed porch, which has chamfered posts and a rail balustrade, across the entire façade. The ceiling above the porch and main house have boxed cornices. Two large, interior, brick chimneys pierce the roof on the rear slope. The house sits on a raised brick pier foundation. The interior features grained woodwork and pilastered mantels. During the federal occupation of Edisto Island beginning in 1862, the house was used as headquarters for a Colonel More of the 55th Pennsylvania Regiment. Listed in the National Register May 5, 1987.