(Battery Trenholm) Fort Trenholm was built in late 1864 and named for George A. Trenholm, a Charleston cotton factor, blockade runner, and secretary of the treasury for the Confederacy. The fort was designed to strengthen the batteries controlling the Stono River, particularly Fort Pringle. Additionally, Fort Trenholm was sited to prevent a flanking movement of the James Island batteries by a land force on John’s Island. An important western perimeter defense, Fort Trenholm mounted fourteen heavy cannons on capture. The fort is a large bastioned earth fortification and is basically three-sided with the northern exposure open to the marsh. The eastern face, which plays on the Stono River, covers a distance of 870 feet with the main river battery about 375 feet of this distance. The southern face is about 780 feet long with large lunettes at both the southeast and southwest corners. The western face is approximately 885 feet long. The parapet is about 45 feet thick at the base and about 15 feet in height. It has emplacements for 17 guns. Listed in the National Register August 11, 1982.