The Fort Moultrie Quartermaster and Support Facilities Historic District is a relatively small collection of buildings located on the western end of Sullivan’s Island. Most of the buildings are currently used as single or multiple dwellings; one is city hall; and two are used for storage. The district includes buildings constructed by the Quartermaster Corp. and as service facilities for Fort Moultrie during its expansion from 1897 through 1947. Work on Fort Moultrie resumed in 1897 largely as a result of growing tensions between the United States and Spain. The Quartermaster facilities were grouped toward the center of the fort. The Quartermaster and Support facilities Historic District includes ten contributing resources constructed between circa 1900 and 1930 to serve Fort Moultrie. Included in the district are a Non-Commissioned Officers’ Club, the Post Theatre, a Commissary Storehouse, a Barracks, Ordnance Storage and Office, two Quartermaster’s Warehouses, Dispensary/Provost Marshall’s Office, Quartermaster’s Office, and the Quartermaster’s Dock. Listed in the National Register September 6, 2007.
Fort Moultrie Quartermaster and Support Facilities Historic District