The Exchange and Provost Building, built 1767-1771, served during the last quarter of the 18th century as a customhouse, public market, public meeting place, military prison and barracks. Confiscated tea was stored here in 1774, and the Provincial Congress of South Carolina met here in the same year. The British used the exchange as a barracks and military prison from 1780 to 1782, during the American Revolution. President George Washington was welcomed on the steps of this building when he visited Charleston on his southern tour of 1791. The structure was badly damaged by Union artillery fire during the Civil War and again by the great earthquake of 1886. Repaired after each occasion the Exchange was used for Federal office purposes until 1913 when an act of Congress deed the building to the Daughters of the American Revolution in and of the State of South Carolina to be preserved by them as a historical monument. The building is a large two-story over elevated basement brick structure of Georgian design. It has a hipped roof and three-bay wide projecting and pedimented central pavilions on the east and west elevations. The windows are of London crown glass, decorations of Portland stone, and the roof of Welsh Carnarvon slate. Listed in the National Register December 17, 1969; Designated a National Historic Landmark November 7, 1973.
Exchange and Provost