The Dr. John B. Patrick House is historically significant for its social and commercial values as well as its architectural style. Since its construction ca. 1870, the house and store have played several different roles in the development of the community of Sullivans Island, namely as summer residence, full-time residence, brothel, general mercantile, and rental property. The house is a two and one half story frame residence with a symmetrical plan on all but the rear elevation and a two-tiered integral piazza which wraps onto the side elevations and terminates with flanking wings. The house, including the piazzas, is sheltered by an expansive asphalt-clad hip roof which is pierced on the façade by a larger central gable dormer, a single hip roof dormer on all other elevations, and two corbeled, hooded, and stuccoed interior brick chimneys. A brick and stucco cistern is attached to the western chimney. All dormers are clad in diamond shaped asbestos shingles. Exterior walls are clad with cypress weatherboard. A paired, dual-flight wooden stair with simple balustrade accesses the second floor piazza. A small rectangular structure, built in the early twentieth century as a general store, is located on the southeast corner of the property. It is of simple frame construction with gable front to street, and features exposed rafter tails, a diamond-pattern asbestos shingle roof, an interior stucco-clad corbelled brick chimney, and shiplap siding. Listed in the National Register February 9, 1995

Address

Address:

1820 Middle St, Sullivan's Island, South Carolina 29482, USA

GPS:

32.75951329648122, -79.84409790575012

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-