Colonel John Stuart was appointed the King’s Superintendent of Indian Affairs for the Southern District in 1762. By 1765 he obtained full imperial status for his department and was active in handling the Indian affairs of East and West Florida. In 1770 he was named “councillor extraordiary” to advise the governors of Virginia, the provinces and their boards on Indian affairs. Stuart was arrested early in June 1775 on the charge of attempting to incite the Catawba and Cherokee in the British interest. He fled from Lady’s Island to Florida, where he remained until his death in 1779. John Stuart built the three-story frame residence about 1772. The house has a hipped roof, captain’s walk, and one interior chimney. The narrow south façade is flush boarded and the other elevations are clapboarded. First and second story windows in the narrow façade are flanked with dog-ear trim and crowned with bracketed triangular pediments. The fanlighted entrance is located on the left bay of the front elevation. Its frontispiece is highlighted by Corinthian pilasters and a denticulated pediment. The two-story piazza along the west side was added in the 19th century. Bedroom and service additions of two stories were also added at a later period. Listed in the National Register October 22, 1970; Designated a National Historic Landmark November 7, 1973

Address

Address:

106 Tradd St, Charleston, South Carolina

GPS:

32.77441845529972, -79.93329709280745

Telephone:

-

Email:

-

Web:

-