Significant in the commercial history of Charleston and the nation, the building was built as a bank and was used as such from 1798 to 1835, a role assumed again in 1966 when Citizens and Southern National Bank acquired the property. It is believed to be the oldest building built for a bank now in use as a bank in the United States. From 1835 to 1916 the building housed the Charleston Library Society, one of the oldest in the nation; and from 1916 to 1966 housed the Charleston Chamber of Commerce, also one of the oldest in the nation. The two-story, red brick building has limestone trim over windows and doors, a hipped roof and a T-shaped floor plan. The first floor façade of extending center wing features a pair of stepped arch windows on either side of double, three-panel door with fanlight. The second floor level façade has three stepped arch windows and is surmounted by a triangular pediment with semi-circular fanlight. The reception room has original carved woodwork, original black and white marble tile floor, and graceful cluster columns. The interior arch of the main doorway has a bas-relief carving of eagles. The iron grillwork fence was copied from ca. 1868 photographs of the original fence which was destroyed by the 1886 earthquake. The driveways on the east and west sides of the building were converted into small gardens typical of the charming courtyard gardens for which Charleston is noted. Listed in the National Register May 6, 1971.
Citizens and Southern National Bank of South Carolina