Battery Gadsden constructed 1903-1904 by G.P. Howell, is one of a series of batteries stretching from Fort Moultrie on the west to the eastern end of Sullivan’s Island. Charleston Harbor has always had some form of fixed harbor defense beginning with Fort Johnson in 1708 and culminating with the construction of these batteries in the fortification of Sullivan’s Island at the mouth of Charleston Harbor. This four, six inch gun, coastal defense battery was built to protect Charleston Harbor. The battery, approximately 377 feet long and 84 feet wide, consists of two sections: the glacis and the armament complex. The glacis is a relatively smooth, slightly sloping area on the sides and front of the battery which protects the armament complex from bombardment. The armament complex consists of four recessed disappearing gun platforms or foundations, the loading platforms, ammunition hoists (one per gun) and various staircases or ramps for access. The front or ocean side of the battery is approximately 7 feet high. Walls and ceilings are of concrete. All guns and machinery were removed in 1917. Listed in the National Register June 25, 1974.